Tuesday, November 20, 2018

The Vegan Alcohol Directory

What’s wrong with alcohol?

Putting aside arguments about health, many beers, wines and other alcoholic beverages are filtered with animal ingredients such as isinglass (derived from fish) or bone char. While the filtering process only leaves trace animal residues in the final product, the fact that animal products are used at all leaves many beverages off of the vegan drinker’s shopping list. To make matters worse, some drinks are simply not vegan by virtue of their ingredients, as cream, eggs, and even whole chickens can be added to a drink to give it a distinctive flavour or property.

The trouble is, this isn’t something you’ll find on a label.

The Vegan Alcohol Directory

What can I do?

We’ve started the Vegan Booze Directory to help you build a proper vegan bar, but we need a bit of help. Alcohol, especially beer, is incredibly regional, and the odds are that your favourite brand isn’t even available in other parts of the world. Combined with the sheer number of drinks out there, it’s clear that we need more than one or two people to build the list.

We need volunteers in the following areas:

Drinkers
This is the easiest thing in the world – if you’re drinking something right now, email us with the name of the product and some contact information (a phone number or email address) and we’ll add it to the directory.

Ingredient Checkers
If a product is in the directory but the status is unknown, we need people to contact the company and ask the following questions:

  1. Are any animal products such as isinglass or gelatin (for beer and wine) or bone char (for liquor) used to filter the product?
  2. Are there any animal ingredients such as dairy, egg, or honey in the product itself?

Once you’ve got the answers, email us with the information. If you don’t want your name listed in the directory with your findings, please mention that in your email.

Double Checkers
To ensure accuracy, we’d like someone else to verify the results found by the Ingredient Checkers. If you see a product that hasn’t been double checked, repeat the above steps and let us know what you find out.

The Directory
Here’s the list we have so far. It really doesn’t take long to check out your favourite drink, but even if you don’t want to go that far, just getting the product on the list might prompt someone else in your area to check it out for you, so please, any way you can help out will make it easier for everyone.

Vegan Beers

Anchor Brewing Company
1705 Mariposa Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Tel 415-863-8350
Fax 415-552-7094
www.anchorbrewing.com

Status: Vegan Friendly

From a company email:
Thank you for your e-mail. Our beers do not use any animal products or by-products, including Isenglas.

The Amsterdam Brewing Co.
600 King Street West, Toronto, ON, Canada
416-504-6882
Status: Vegan Friendly

Black Oak Brewing Co.
504 Iroquois Shore Road, Unit 10, Oakville, ON, Canada
905-339-1037
Status: Vegan Friendly

Capital Brewery
7734 Terrace Avenue
P.O. Box 620185
Middleton, WI 53562
Phone: (608) 836-7100
FAX: (608) 831-9155
http://www.capital-brewery.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

From a company email:
“As far as I know, the only animals involved with our beer production are the guys I hired to work with me. Thanks.”

Dogfish Head Brewing
www.dogfish.com
(302) 226-BREW
320 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Status: Mostly Vegan Friendly

Midas Touch Ale contains honey

Goose Island
1800 W. Fulton Street
Chicago, IL 60612
312-226-1119
www.gooseisland.com
Status: Mostly Vegan Friendly

Email from the company:
“Most Goose Island Beer Co. beers are free of animal products. There are only two exceptions. Our Summertime Kolsch and all the beers served Cask Conditioned at the Goose Island Brewpubs are filtered with isinglass. All other beers, bottle and keg, are free of animal products. We are looking to change our procedure for Summertime in 2005.

No animal ingredients are used in any Goose Island Beer.”

Lakefront Brewery
1872 N Commerce St – Milwaukee
Wisconsin 53212
(414) 372-8800
www.lakefrontbrewery.com
Status: Mostly Vegan Friendly

Email from the company:
“There are no animal products in, or used to filter our beer. We do use honey in our Holiday Spice Beer.”

Miller Brewing Company
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
www.millercoors.com
Status: All beers Vegan Friendly

From the website:
Miller does not use any animal by-products in its brewing process, nor are there any animal sources used in our packaging. Isinglass is not used in our brewing. There are four basic ingredients in all Miller products. These include pure water, select cereal grains, hops and yeast. Corn is one of the basic ingredients used in all Miller products. It is a part of the select cereal grains along with malted barley. We do not use animal-derived ingredients in our beer.

Milwaukee Ale House
233 North Water Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
(414) 226-BEER
www.ale-house.com
Status: Fish bladder! Ewwww!

From a company email:
“All of my beers are made with water, barley malt, hops, and yeast unless otherwise noted, for example the Ale House Weiss uses a large portion of wheat malt and our Sheepshead Stout contains oats and our Downtown Lites is brewed with honey. Other special beers I’ve made in the past have used corn, rye, honey, candi sugar, spices, etc. Some people have corn or wheat allergies so I make sure this information is mentioned to the staff here, although most people with these allergies ask first.

We do not filter any beer brewed here at the Ale House. I use a traditional method of fining all my beers for clarity. Yes, it involves dried fish swim bladders. It’s rehydrated in water and added to the beer in the fermenter. By design it does not remain in the beer, but settles out with the yeast it pulls out of suspension.”

Steam Whistle Brewing
255 Bremmer Blvd., Toronto, ON, Canada
416-362-2337
Status: Vegan Friendly

The Wychwood Brewery Co Ltd
Eagle Maltings
The Crofts
WITNEY
Oxfordshire
OX28 4DP
UK
www.wychwood.co.uk
Status: Mostly NOT Vegan Friendly

Company email:
Currently the only vegetarian/vegan beer that the Wychwood Brewery produces, are those brewed for the Duchy Originals range. All other beers both cask and bottle contain isinglass finings or have isinglass used in the their production.

Unibroue Inc.
80 des Carrières, Chambly, QC, Canada
514-658-7658
Status: Vegan Friendly

Anheuser-Busch
One Busch Place, St. Louis, MO 63118 USA
Status: Vegan Friendly

Please note: Anheuser-Busch owns Sea World, and is a major sponsor of professional rodeos.

Black Isle Brewery
Old Allangrange, Munlochy, Ross-shire, IV8 8NZ, SCOTLAND
+44 (0)1463 811871
Status: Vegan Friendly

CB. Potts Restaurant and Brewery
Colorado & Wyoming
www.cbpotts.com
Status: NOT Vegan Friendly

Chimay
Route Charlemagne, 8
6464 Baileux (Chimay) Belgium
+ 32.(0).60.21.03.11
chimay.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Coopers
PO Box 46
Regency Park
South Australia 5942
(08) 8440 1800
coopers.com.au
Status: Vegan Friendly

Franziskaner
Provinzialat der Sachsischen
Franziskanerprovinz
Kirchroder Str. 12a
30625 Hannover, Germany
(0511) 53889911
www.Franziskaner.de
Status: Vegan Friendly

Fuller’s
fullers.co.uk
FULLER, SMITH & TURNER P.L.C.,
Griffin Brewery, Chiswick Lane South,
Chiswick, London W4 2QB
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 8996 2000
Fax: +44 (0) 20 8995 0230
Status: Mostly Vegan Friendly

All bottled beers are OK, except for the Organic Honey Dew

Hoegaarden
InBev
Vaartstraat 94
3000 Leuven
Belgium
+32 16 24 71 11
www.ab-inbev.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Lindemans
www.Lindemans.be
Status: Vegan Friendly

Magic Hat Brewing Company
www.magichat.net
5 Bartlett Bay Road
South Burlington, VT 05403
P: 802-658-2739
F: 802-658-5788
Status: Fish bladder! Ewwww!

Mill Street Brewery
55 Mill Street, Building 63, Toronto, ON, Canada
416-681-0338
Status: Vegan Friendly

Comments: Made from organic ingredients!

Moosehead
89 Main Street West
Saint John, NB
E2M 3H2
1-877-888 BEER (2337)
www.moosehead.ca
Status: Vegan Friendly

Company email:
Thank you for your inquiry. We are happy to say that we do not use animal products in any of our brands of beer. The ingredients are malt, corn, hops and water. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions or comments. As one of the country’s few remaining independent brewers, your support means a lot to us.

Newcastle Brown Ale
www.newcastlebrownale.com
Status: Vegan Friendly (in bottles)

Two Brothers Brewing Company
30W114 Butterfield Road
Warrenville, IL 60555
630-393-4800
www.twobrosbrew.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

From a company email:
“Thanks for your inquiry. Our beers are Vegan. We do not use any animal products, just malt, hops, yeast and water.”

Yuengling Brewery
5th & Mahantongo Streets
Pottsville, PA 17901
(570) 622-4141
www.Yuengling.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Upper Canada Brewing Co.
551 Clair Road West, Guelph, ON, Canada
519-882-1834
Status: Vegan Friendly

Vegan Wines

Frey Vineyards
14000 Tomki Rd, Redwood Valley CA 95470 U.S.A.
707-485-5177 or 1-800-760-3739
www.FreyWine.com

I did not personally call them, but they did win the 2003 Veggie Award from Vegnews as the favorite vegan wine.

Banrock Station – Australia
Status: NOT Vegan Friendly

Banrock was our first instance where the double-check paid off – it was initially listed as vegan friendly, but Leigh wrote in to say that the White Shiraz wasn’t vegan, and Justin says that the reds say “fined with egg and dairy” on the label. Double check, people!

Duval-Leroy
Duval-Leroy.com
Status: Brut Champagne is vegan

Organic Wine Works – California
Status: Vegan Friendly

Paulinshof – Germany
Status: Only the Riesling Kabinett is vegan friendly

Peter Lehmann Wines
Off Para Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352
Status: Red Wines are Vegan Friendly, Whites are not

Vegan Liquor

Ketel One Vodka
Nolet Spirits U.S.A.
800-243-3618
http://www.ketelone.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Hiram Walker Distillery
Status: All hard liquors vegan friendly

Kahlua
www.Kahlua.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Skyy Vodka
http://www.Skyy.com
Status: Vegan Friendly

Company email:
“No animals products whatsoever go into the making of SKYY – either directly or indirectly. The charcoal used is derived from inorganic material and is completely removed prior to bottling. And no color is added.”